Edinburgh

Loch Fyne Restaurant in Edinburgh

EdinburghEating & DrinkingRestaurantsSeafood

I visited Loch Fyne on a recommendation and I was blown away.
I guess you do imagine that fresh produce is available from a restaurant that is on a pier over the ocean, but I really feel like they searched for quality here.
The interior is open and well presented. You can see the kitchen area and the chefs working, there is a long large bar with all the wines clearly on display, and some great quotes about fishing painted on the walls. Add to that a top view over the water and your hard pressed to find a nicer place.
We had 36 oysters- yes we are quite the obsessives- and each one was incredible, a creamy delight (and to credit them it was hard to even put salt and lemon on them as their flavour was such that it didn’t require it at all).
The salmon was pink and without fat ribbons and the house fish was cooked to perfection.
We did attempt desserts- be warned the chocolate cake is so thick and dense it had most of my table floored after getting 1/4 of the way through! I had the apple tart which had great light pastry and poached fruit.
All in all a place I would visit again and again.

Check out my review of Loch Fyne Restaurant – I am rachelle_thompson – on Qype

Standard

Leave a Reply

