London

The Tower of London in London

LondonArts & EntertainmentLandmarksHotels & HolidaysDestinationsArts & EntertainmentDay Trips

Can’t go wrong with a bit of history can you? The Tower of London is one of those places I have wandered past, slightly loathe to pay my £16 entry to see what the fuss is about. However as a English history obsessive it was only a matter of time before I caved.
I had no idea how big it was inside! the size of the area somehow doesn’t translate from the Thames or from the entry point.
I really enjoyed seeing the Traitor’s Gate from the inside, the ravens clipped and poised on the grass, Beefeaters strutting about, and getting the various views from each tower.
The current exhibition in the Armoury is a display of the history of King Henry VIII armour- it was really fascinating to see how he grew over time, and get a real sense of the man.
The drawback for me was that the map cost £5- you would think that would be included in admission (also didn’t love the guy selling the maps telling me and my friends “don’t be so blonde about everything” when we refused it!!)

Check out my review of The Tower of London – I am rachelle_thompson – on Qype

Standard

Leave a Reply

